Finland, 5 NATO states to create ´drone wall´ for border protection

1 23

Finland, 5 NATO states to create ´drone wall´ for border protection

Six countries of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) including Finland will set up a "drone wall" to protect their borders, reported Xinhua, quoting the Ukrainian news outlet European Pravda on Saturday.

Other countries joining the initiative are Baltic states Lithuania, Latvia, and Estonia, as well as Poland and Norway.

"This is a completely new thing — a 'drone wall' stretching from Norway to Poland, and the goal is to use drones and other technologies to protect our borders," Lithuanian Interior Minister Agne Bilotaite has said.

Finnish Interior Minister Mari Rantanen told national broadcaster Yle on Saturday that Finland would join the other NATO countries bordering Russia to create the ‘drone wall’ to protect their borders.

Under the initiative, the participating countries will use unmanned aerial vehicles to monitor their border areas.

They will also deploy anti-drone systems to protect their borders from drones, which could be used by "hostile countries" for smuggling and provocations, according to the initiative.


1 Comment
  1. EmilySmith says

    Do you think the ‘drone wall’ will be effective in preventing border violations by hostile countries?

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.